Restaurant Review – September 2006

Napa Valley Marketplace Magazine Restaurant Review September 2006.

Fumé Bistro Restaurant Napa Valley

Fumé Bistro & Bar
By “The Gourmet Girl”

Every morning, on my way to work, I pass Fumé Bistro, which looks like a hidden treasure behind a chain link fence—just out of reach of Highway 29. It was a spur of the moment idea when we decided to try Fumé Bistro for lunch.

I woke up late on a beautiful Sunday morning in the mood to eat. I love Sunday brunch. The idea of a leisurely meal on the weekend when time doesn’t matter fits perfectly on a Sunday afternoon. Brunch is the perfect opportunity to do just that.

We arrived around 1 p.m. and sat outside. The patio was just begging us to relax and enjoy the day. I was having a hard time deciding between breakfast and lunch. They had so many wonderful things from which to choose and French Toast is one of my favorite indulgences. They also had quite a few interesting salads, so I tore my eyes away from the breakfast and went for lunch instead.

I began with the Pear Salad ($8.00) while my friend chose the Caesar (also $8.00). I must confess I was a little out of my element with this salad. My favorite salad is the Iceberg Wedge, but I was feeling bold and adventurous so I closed my eyes, made my choice, and didn’t look back. When it arrived it was a massive field of greens with chunks of bleu cheese and thin slices of pears buried in its depths. I never thought of putting fruit in my salad but the combination was truly satisfying. The sweet crispness of the pears mingled perfectly with the tangy softness of the bleu cheese and I found myself searching the salad for every last piece of fruit.

It was very hard for me to choose an entrée, as I was still eyeing the French toast, but decided to stick with lunch. The menu includes omelets, blintzes, and breakfast pizzas. My friend chose the Margherita pizza ($11.00) while I decided on the Pork Po’ Boy sandwich ($11.50). When my sandwich arrived, with its thinly sliced slow-roasted pork with chipotle barbeque sauce on a French roll with bistro fries, I knew I had made the right choice. It was spicy and sweet and the fries were thin and crisp. My friend’s pizza turned out to be big enough for two, so when she offered to share it with me I gladly reached over and helped myself to a slice or two. Thin strips of basil lay on top of a thick layer of mozzarella and Parmesan cheese. It was so perfect; I almost forgot my own lunch.

When it came time for dessert we were quiet full. We decided to share the dessert (I know, I know, but just this once it was okay—as long as I don’t make a habit of it). We agreed upon the mocha chip gelato, three scoops of thick chocolate gelato with chunks of chocolate sat neatly in a crisp edible bowl. The gelato began to melt in the heat so we had to eat fast. It was so delicious; we would have devoured it quickly anyway. The gelato was smooth and creamy with a strong bite of mocha flavor.
After such a wonderful meal, it was time to go home, take a nap, and enjoy the end of a great weekend.

Fumé Bistro has a local’s night every Tuesday with no corkage fee. On Sunday nights, between 4:30 and 9 p.m., they have “Pint ‘n Pizza Pie Night”—if you sit at the bar you get to enjoy Fumés Margherita pizza and a pint of beer for only five dollars! On Monday nights, same time, and again for bar patrons only, you can enjoy their Chuck Burger for just five dollars. When you arrive at Fumé Bistro, please save me a seat at the bar.

Lydia, the Event Coordinator/Manager for Fumé Bistro, was kind enough to give me a recipe for their Crepes from Fumé’s “Summer Berry Cheese Blintz.” Fumé Bistro is located at 4050 Byway East Napa. Reservations are recommended. Phone # 707-257-1999. You can view the menu at fumebistro.com. If you have any comments or suggestions on your favorite places to eat in the valley please contact me at napagourmetgirl@yahoo.com

http://www.napavalleymarketplace.com

Leave a Reply

