Conversations with a Small Dog

dog lady

By ML Hilton

I consider myself a practical woman. I’m efficient, methodical, and logical. I believe that most things are explainable and I have a little bit of a “show me” attitude. A lot of that comes from my upbringing in the deep South.

A time and place, for example, where children were seen and not heard, hard work was hard currency, and “yoga” and “metaphysical” may have actually never been uttered. Everyone had laying hens in the yard and FRESH fried chicken for dinner.  Animals had their place — they were part of the family’s ecosystem — but the pets were definitely not considered on par with the children.  Even my spirituality is light on blind faith, and heavy on “do-unto-others.”

But no matter how practical and straightforward I’ve become, I suspect there is more to the natural world that can be easily defined. Things flit across the fabric of life that show a deeper, more ethereal connection. Like the time I moved a state away from my dearest friend. I called her a week later to tell her of a dream I had were we enjoyed the best adventure in a little blue Chevette. She listened in stunned silence, and when I finished my tale, she told me that she had purchased a new car the day before: a little blue Chevette.

And, that’s not the only story I have like that. So, I save my knee-jerk, deep doubts for national politicians and aging Lotharios. All others I will happily invite a listen, even if the “B S” meter starts twitching.

In late January, I had the opportunity to take my little Chihuahua, Bananas, to an Animal Intuitive. Animal intuitives, or “communicators,” as it was explained to me, is someone who has something like a telepathic conversation, heavily weighted with an intuitive sense and an open mind.  Bananas and I visited with Barbara Martin who offers her sessions in Napa, through The Spa at Napa River Inn.

Barbara calls herself the “animal communicator of the common man.”  She isn’t particularly gypsy-looking, or airy-fairy. In fact, she comes across as rather average, leaning heavily on the gentle and nice side of average. While Barbara is naturally sensitive, she studied many years under well-known, national Animal Communicators in order to learn her craft.

Typically, Barbara helps owners understand their animal’s health and behavior issues, fears, thoughts and feelings. She can sometimes help people stay “in touch” with animals after they go to the great backyard in
the sky.

My little dog easily took to her and climbed on her lap. The only questions she asked of me to start were how many other animals and people were in the house, and our names. Barbara gave me a pad to take notes while she conversed with my dog. And, I must confess, that I busied myself with the activity of note taking, in hopes of not giving off too many “clues.”

In the course of the conversation with my dog, she covered a lot of topics with Bananas, sometimes asking questions and sometimes listening. She checked in with me a few times, to clarify, but I didn’t feel like I was tuned into the conversation.

Let’s get to the best part. Was the reading accurate? There were a number of things that Barbara said that were hands-down true.

Barbara asked Bananas if she like to go to work with me (since we were at work that day). Banana’s answered “yes,” but that she used to go to work with me all the time, which was true. When I got Bananas from the pound 8 years ago, she went with me everywhere, including daily to my job.

Barbara asked Bananas how old she was. The answer? “She thinks she is 10.”  True.

When asked about her health, Bananas said, “I’m healthy, but my teeth are going to cost a fortune.” One of her last visits to vet, they suggested a dental cleaning that was estimated to cost more than $1,000. Could you guess that? Yes, Bananas has bad breath, but it still was right on.

We recently lost our old beagle, Milo, who died right before Christmas. Barbara asked Bananas about Milo and she said that she knew he had died, but she “was not there” when it happened. Also true. Milo died in our arms at the vet, when we ended his suffering. Bananas did say that Milo was still at the house, in spirit. We have not seen him, of course, but still feel his presence in our hearts daily.

When asked about her time at the animal shelter, Barbara asked Bananas if she “was a runaway, got lost, or if her people had died.” Banana’s said no. “She was so destructive,” they got tired of her and dropped her off.  I have no idea if Bananas was destructive; she certainly isn’t at our house. But, true, Bananas was surrendered.

Bananas also told Barbara that she (Bananas) is famous. And that she “has accessories.” Yes, we do put little bows on our dog. She did, however, answer that she had no clothes. Which is not true. There is a little sweater that she hates and rubs off in the dirt as fast as she can — like Houdini removing a straight jacket.

Bananas picked her name. We had trouble settling on the right one. She came from the shelter as Cream (which never seemed right to us or, apparently, Bananas). We tried Trixie for a while, but my daughter started calling her Bananas when she would dance madly around the house. That stuck, according to Barbara, because Bananas was communicating that was what she was to be called.

There were some aspects of the conversation that could have easily just been suggestions from someone very good with animals. I felt like the comments were constructive, however, and even gave me some good insight into our lovely little dog.

There were also parts of the conversation that were personal in nature, about the vibe of our home and comments on our emotional health.  Bananas is a fairly chatty little dog.

Barbara says that is not unusual. “Animals really want this to happen,” she said. “So, they help.” According to Barbara, what she does is just information. “Clear-eyed seeing beyond your eyes. It’s not hocus-pocus; it’s just being in tune.”

Interestingly enough, I felt a lot closer to my little dog than I had before. Maybe we should have these chats more often.

(ML Hilton is a long-time Napa resident. If you have comments on this story, or would like to suggest other story topics, please email her at: stetgrrl@gmail.com)

One comment on “Conversations with a Small Dog

  1. Tracy Tighe says:

    Melodie, I have finally read your story. I’ve often toyed with the idea of having my cat Luna converse with an Animal Intuitive. Does Barbara do house calls?

Leave a Reply

